THE WORLD GAMES 2022

Every four years, in the year following the Summer Olympics, the world’s best athletes in non-Olympic sports compete in the World Games.

The 11th edition of these World Games was to be held in the USA again this year, 40 years after it was first held. However, the international competition calendar is adapting to the Olympic Games and The World Games are keeping their staging rhythm in the year following the Summer Games.

The postponement will not diminish the appeal of the World Games, and the USA will now welcome the top athletes of non-Olympic sports to Birmingham, the largest city in the state of Alabama, next year from July 7 to 17, 2022.

One key feature distinguishes the host cities of the World Games: As a matter of principle, the infrastructure required for this multi-sport event is not built from scratch; instead, available sports facilities or those already planned independently of the World Games are used. This requirement also determines the respective sports program. The existing infrastructure in and around the host city is the determining factor for the selection of the respective official sports program.

The World Games will begin in the summer of 2022 on July 7 with the opening ceremony at the Protective Life Stadium, which will be completed next year. The construction of the stadium was planned independently of the World Games – due to the postponement of the Games, it will now provide a magnificent backdrop when the nations march in. During the following ten days of competition, the athletes will compete for 221 gold medals before the 11th World Games will end with the closing ceremony on July 17.

The World Games have been under the auspices of the IOC since 2000 and provide a stage for new Olympic program sports with modern competition formats. Recent examples include the inclusion of karate, sport climbing and surfing for the Tokyo 2020 Summer Olympics.

In 2022, more than 100 nations will be represented in Birmingham with approximately 3,600 athletes competing in 34 sports. This means that this sporting event has more than doubled in numbers in all dimensions since the first World Games in 1981.
The media presence of the World Games has also increased enormously and makes an important contribution to making these interesting sports known to a wider public. In 2017, the competitions were broadcast on TV in 120 countries.

EVENT DATES

  • Opening Ceremony 7 July 2022
  • Competition 8-17 July 2022
  • TWG Plaza 8-17 July 2022
  • Closing Ceremony 17 July 2022
  • TWG Athletes Night 13 July 2022
  • BIRMINGHAM, ALABAMA​
    If diversity were a place, it would be Birmingham. People who visit here get a taste of that variety—in entertainment, cuisine, the arts, nightlife, the great outdoors—that brings them back time and again.

    Birmingham was born out of iron and steel. Remnants of these early beginnings are preserved in places such as Sloss Furnaces National Historic Landmark. The city is also well-known for its prominent role in the Civil Rights Movement of the 1960s. A visit to the Birmingham Civil Rights Institute gives visitors an in-depth look at that important era.

    The area’s antique shops are becoming places of legend in upscale lifestyle magazines around the country. Trendy malls have taken root all over the area, bringing tony, high-end shops to the state’s retail giant. Dozens of new art galleries surprise enthusiasts and collectors with a wide variety of paintings, sculpture, jewelry, ceramics, fine and funk art.

    Should you have us pigeonholed as serving only barbeque and fried pies, just remember that Birmingham is home to “the Oscars of dining” with James Beard Foundation Award winners and nominees. Anyone visiting the city should take in the beauty of down-home cooking as well. And visitors with an appetite for live music will find that it is the city’s signature entertainment.

    So it is diversity that is this city’s greatest strength and strongest appeal. We are a spectrum of attitudes and cultures that are all a part of the charm and intrigue that is Birmingham.

    Demos

    customizer_element __demos

    Nav Mode

    Layout

    Boxed
    Wide

    Background Image

    Color Skin

WORLD GAMES

Alle vier Jahre, im Jahr nach den Olympischen Sommerspielen, treten die weltbesten Sportler der nichtolympischen Sportarten bei den World Games an.

Die 11. Ausgabe dieser Weltspiele sollte jubiläumsrund in diesem Jahr 40 Jahre nach ihrer Erstaustragung wieder in den USA stattfinden. Doch der internationale Wettkampfkalender passt sich den Olympischen Spielen an und The World Games behalten ihren Austragungsrhythmus im Jahr nach den Sommerspielen bei.

Die Verschiebung wird den Weltspielen in ihrer Strahlkraft keinen Abbruch tun und die USA begrüßen nun im nächsten Jahr vom 7. bis 17. Juli 2022 in Birmingham, der größten Stadt im Bundesstaat Alabama, die Spitzenathleten und -innen der nichtolympischen Sportarten.

Ein entscheidendes Merkmal zeichnet die Ausrichterstädte der World Games aus: So wird die für dieses Multisport-Event notwendige Infrastruktur grundsätzlich nicht neu gebaut, sondern es werden verfügbare oder bereits unabhängig von den World Games geplante Sportstätten genutzt. Diese Voraussetzung bestimmt auch das jeweilige Sport-Programm. Die existierende Infrastruktur in und im Umkreis der Ausrichterstadt ist der bestimmende Faktor für die Auswahl des jeweiligen offiziellen Sportprogramms.

Die World Games beginnen im Sommer 2022 am 7. Juli mit der Eröffnungszeremonie im Protective Life Stadium, das im kommenden Jahr fertiggestellt sein wird. Der Bau des Stadions war unabhängig von den World Games geplant – bedingt durch die Verschiebung der Spiele wird es nun beim Einmarsch der Nationen eine großartige Kulisse bieten. In den folgenden zehn Wettkampftagen werden die Sportlerinnen und Sportler um 221 Goldmedaillen kämpfen, bevor am 17. Juli die 11. World Games mit der Schlusszeremonie enden.

The World Games stehen seit dem Jahr 2000 unter der Schirmherrschaft des IOC und bieten für neue olympische Programmsportarten eine Bühne mit modernen Wettkampfformaten. Aktuelle Beispiele dafür sind die Aufnahmen der Sportarten Karate, Sportklettern und Surfen für die Olympischen Sommerspiele Tokio 2020.

2022 werden in Birmingham über 100 Nationen mit rund 3.600 Athleten in 34 Sportarten vertreten sein. Damit hat sich diese Sportveranstaltung in allen Dimensionen zahlenmäßig seit den ersten World Games 1981 mehr als verdoppelt.
Auch die mediale Präsenz der World Games hat enorm zugelegt und leistet einen wichtigen Beitrag, um diese interessanten Sportarten einer breiteren Öffentlichkeit bekannt zu machen. 2017 wurden die Wettkämpfe in 120 Ländern per TV übertragen.

EVENT DATEN

  • Eröffnungsfeier 7. Juli 2022
  • Wettbewerbe 8.-17. Juli 2022
  • TWG Plaza 8-17 Juli 2022
  • Schlussfeier 17. Juli 2022
  • TWG Athletes Night 13. Juli 2022
  • BIRMINGHAM, ALABAMA
    Wenn Vielfalt ein Ort wäre, dann wäre es Birmingham. Wer hierher kommt, bekommt einen Vorgeschmack auf diese Vielfalt – Unterhaltung, Küche, Kunst, Nachtleben, Natur -, die ihn immer wieder zurückbringt.

    Birmingham wurde aus Eisen und Stahl geboren. Überreste dieser frühen Anfänge sind an Orten wie dem Sloss Furnaces National Historic Landmark erhalten. Die Stadt ist auch für ihre herausragende Rolle in der Bürgerrechtsbewegung der 1960er Jahre bekannt. Ein Besuch des Birmingham Civil Rights Institute gibt Besuchern einen detaillierten Einblick in diese wichtige Ära.

    Die Antiquitätenläden der Gegend werden in gehobenen Lifestyle-Magazinen im ganzen Land zur Legende. Trendige Einkaufszentren haben sich in der ganzen Gegend angesiedelt und bringen schicke, hochwertige Geschäfte in den Einzelhandelsriesen des Staates. Dutzende neuer Kunstgalerien überraschen Liebhaber und Sammler mit einer großen Vielfalt an Gemälden, Skulpturen, Schmuck, Keramik, feiner und Funk-Kunst.

    Sollten Sie uns in die Schublade stecken, dass wir nur Barbecue und frittierte Pasteten servieren, denken Sie daran, dass Birmingham die Heimat der „Oscars der Gastronomie“ ist, mit James Beard Foundation Award Gewinnern und Nominierten. Jeder, der die Stadt besucht, sollte sich auch von der Schönheit der bodenständigen Küche überzeugen. Und Besucher, die Appetit auf Live-Musik haben, werden feststellen, dass dies die charakteristische Unterhaltung der Stadt ist.

    Es ist also die Vielfalt, die die größte Stärke und den stärksten Reiz dieser Stadt ausmacht. Wir sind ein Spektrum von Einstellungen und Kulturen, die alle ein Teil des Charmes und der Faszination von Birmingham sind.

    Übersetzt mit www.DeepL.com/Translator (kostenlose Version)

    CHENGDU Gastgeber der WORLD GAMES 2025

    Die chinesische Stadt Chengdu wird Gastgeber der World Games 2025 sein. IFA Präsident Karl Weiss gratulierte dem Bürgermeister von Chengdu, Luo Qiang, die 12. Ausgabe dieses Multisportevents auszurichten. Zudem wurde der nachhaltige Aufbau eines chinesischen Mitgliedsverbandes besprochen.

    Demos

    customizer_element __demos

    Nav Mode

    Layout

    Boxed
    Wide

    Background Image

    Color Skin