The European Women’s Fistball Championship took place on 18th and 19th August in Grieskirchen, Upper Austria. Germany won the final against Austria 3:0 and defended its title from 2019. Furthermore, Germany secured with the victory its place for The World Games 2025 in Chengdu, China.

Teams from eight European Fistball nations competed for the prestigious European Championship title on 18 August (preliminary round) and 19 August (final day) at the Grieskirchen Fistball Centre.
The Austrian selection had to face the title holder from Germany as well as the teams from Serbia and Switzerland in their preliminary round group. In the second preliminary group, Italy, Belgium, Denmark and Poland fought for a good starting position for the quarter-final round on the following day. The fact that it once again came down to a “dream final” between the red-white-red aces and their neighbours from Germany was to be expected in view of the performances in the preliminary round.

The hosts immediately found their way into the match at the beginning of the first set and were able to challenge the title holder. However, the Austrians did not manage to win the first set. In the second set, Austria took a 3:0 lead, but after a German timeout, Germany came back into the game and started to catch up. In a thrilling duel for this set, the Austrian team failed to convert four set points. Thus, Germany also won the second set by an extremely narrow margin of 14:12. Svenja Schröder, who was also voted “Woman of the Match”, scored constantly on the right side. After the second set, Austria again showed a lot of fighting spirit and tried to turn the match around. Germany did not let Austria get back into the match, remaining unbeaten in every final of a major event since 2013 and crowning themselves European champions once again.

Switzerland beats Serbia in Bronze Medal Match

The bronze medal was won by the Swiss national team with a convincing victory over Serbia. Despite the disappointing defeat in the semi-final against Austria, the Swiss women found their motivation again and went into the match with determination. Although the Serbians held their own in the beginning, Switzerland won the first set with a convincing 11:4, also due to several service errors on the part of the Serbians.
In the second set, Serbia tried to get back into the game with a lot of risk. Nevertheless, the Swiss national team showed concentration and secured this set clearly.
Serbia then failed to find its way back into the match, while the Swiss women retained the upper hand and were able to celebrate their bronze medal.

In the match for 5th place, Denmark and Poland dueled. The first set was even, exciting and hard-fought. It was not until extra time that Denmark won the set 15:14.
Due to a medical incident that led to a substitution in the Danish team, they were not able to continue their performance from the previous set. The Polish team took advantage of this opportunity and won the match clearly.
Belgium secured the seventh place. The exhausting match with long rallies between Belgium and Italy was very even for a long time, but finally the Belgians won 3:2. The young Italians put up a good fight but were not rewarded for their tireless efforts and finished the European Championships in 8th place.

Final results:
1. Germany
2. Austria
3. Switzerland
4. Serbia
5. Poland
6. Denmark
7. Belgium
8. Italy